skip to Main Content

The Philadelphia Award

In the formative years of organized locksmithing, it became apparent to the leaders of GPLA that there were some truly dedicated individuals throughout the trade who had devoted much time and effort to the advancement of the craft, not only in Philadelphia but around the world. Many of these leaders were identified. To recognize and inspire these individuals and those who would follow them, the “Philadelphia Award” was created.

Instinctively, those who established the award knew that through conferring the “Philadelphia Award” upon an individual, that person would be immortalized throughout the annals of the security industry.

This was not an award to be “earned,” nor would someone’s title, position, affluence or position in the industry be the criteria by which the recipient would be selected. Rather, a careful search was undertaken by a select committee to identify those whose efforts and dedication truly represented the building blocks of progress for the entire industry.

In the early years, starting in 1953, there were quite a number of individuals whose labor and devotion had gone unrecognized. Thus, it was not unusual to have two or more recipients. Over the years, the select committee has reviewed literally hundreds of outstanding potential nominees. In the end, the committee is faced with the awesome task of selecting the ONE UNIQUE PERSON who best exemplifies the characteristics and dedication that the “Philadelphia Award” embodies. When all is said and done, there can be little doubt that legions of leaders, movers, and shakers who have been a part of this industry have passed from memory, but the recipients of the “Philadelphia Award”, the industry’s most prestigious award, will remain immortalized for all time.

Recent Philadelphia Award Recipients

2018 Peter Field Salem, VA
2017 Jerome Andrews Akron, OH
2016 Don O’Shall Beverly Hills, FL
2015 Mark Bates Nicholasville, KY
2014 David O’ Toole Dublin, Ireland
2013 Skip Eckert Medina, OH
2012 Clyde Roberson Salem, VA
2011 Jay Long Berkeley, CA
2010 Thomas Demont McMurray, PA Tom_Demont
2009 Dallas Brooks Auburn, AL
2008 David Lowell Dallas, TX
2007 William B. Neff Lancaster, PA
2006 Gale Johnson Chicago, IL
2005 Mark Miller Nicholasville, KY
2004 Martin Arnold Pennsauken, NJ
2003 James M. Watt Missoula, MT
2002 Allan Halverson Nicholasville, KY
2001 John Greenan Chicago, IL
2000 Steve Young Pensacola, FL
1998 James Glazier Mount Airy, MD
1997 Brian Costley Nicholasville, KY
1996 Gerry Finch Torrance, CA
1995 Henry Printz Morristown, NJ
1994 Dee Bucha Beeville, TX
1993 Breck Camp Atlanta, GA
1992 A. J. Hoffman Plantsville, KY
1991 Jack Barber Devon, UK
1990 Clayton Miller Nicholasville, KY
1989 Thomas Hennessy Bristol, CT
1988 Billy Edwards Salem, VA
1987 Hans Mejlshede Copenhagen, Denmark
1986 Evelyn Wersonick Albuquerque, NM
1985 Joe Jackman Kansas City, KS
1984 Gerald Connelly Jr Philadelphia, PA
1983 Carey Parker London, UK
1982 Ken Ehrenreich Ft. Lauderdale, FL
1981 Ken Troy Fanwood, NJ
1980 Lawrence McCall Pennsgrove, CA
1979 Bill Reed Des Plaines, IL
1978 Charles Hetherington Dallas, TX
1977 Rex Parmalee Nicholasville, KY
1976 Robert McCown Chicago, IL
1975 Lee Rognon New York, NY
1974 Weigand Jensen Youngstown, OH
1973 Sal Schillizzi New York, NY
1972 Constant Maffey Elizabeth, NJ
1971 Ted Johnstone New Baltimore, MI
1971 John C. Miller Washington DC
1970 William Zipf Sr Columbus, OH
1969 Robert J. Psolka Cherry Hill, NJ
1968 Benjamin Silver New York, NY
1967 William Meacham Pasadena, CA
1966 James L. Taylor Rochester, NY
1965 Vincent Vigil Albuquerque, NM
1964 Gerald Connelly Jr Philadelphia, PA
1963 Robert Bell Bloomfield, NJ
1962 John Weidman Philadelphia, PA
1961 Harold George Milwaukee, WI
1960 Leon Kotch White Plains, NY
1959 Robert A. Nelson Philadelphia, PA
1958 John Mc Lindon Washington DC
1958 Stephen Fallshaw London, UK
1957 Edwin Toepfer Milwaukee, WI
1957 Harry C Miller Rochester, NY
1956 Ernest Johannesen Baltimore, MD
1956 Lee Rognon New York, NY
1955 M. Leonard Singer Woodbridge, NJ
1955 Robert Radckliffe Springfield, MA
1955 Robert Argens Seattle, WA
1955 Hermann Hennsler, Jr Philadelphia, PA
1954 Robert Rognon New York, NY
1954 Joseph Carson Philadelphia, PA
1953 Barney Zion New York, NY
Back To Top